An oldie but a goodie: Ramadan struggles

IMG_0528

Ramdan karim lovelies, this is an old post that I have written back in 2014 for Hijabviser. My writing was clearly inspired by Sister Yasmin Mogahed.

Assalamu alykum beautiful souls,

Ramadan is here Alhamdulillah, I know all of us are excited that we made it through another year with Allah’s grace. what I’m about to talk to you about today is Ramadan fever which I usually have and some of you might also be struggling with it (and what is sisterhood for than to share our experiences together). The first few days of Ramadan I go all out because I missed Ramadan and fasting so much so I would try my very best to read as much as I can of the holy Quran, pray all my salaahs plus Qiyam el layal and completely avoid listening to music. Then sadly half way through Ramadan my energy and excitement starts to fade away Astagfirullah then I started to look around to find why this happens to me most of the time.  The reason is rather simple my emaan starts getting a bit shaky and weak. Emaan (Faith) is not stable it goes up and down and what we all need to do is attempt not go from one extreme to the other. Prophet Muhammad sallallahu alaihi wasallam knew that our emaan is constantly changing and he said: ” Faith wears out in the heart of any one of you just as clothes wear out, so ask Allah to renew the faith in your hearts” ( Hadith reported by al-Haakim in al Mustadrak).

Now that I identified the problem, I’m planning insha’Allah to solve it and I hope all of you who are also experiencing the same thing to try and follow my extremely simple advice to make the most out of Ramadan. First purify our intention because as the Prophet Sallallahu alaihi wasallam said: ” Actions are according to intentions, and everyone will get what was intended” (Bukhari and Muslim). The intention to try to do our best and our intention not to fall in the same cycle and remember that ” Allah does not burden a soul except with that within its capacity” ( Surat Al-Baqarah 2:286).

I also believe everything in moderation, maybe my failure was based on me trying to over burden myself and become extreme. This Ramadan insha’Allah I will personally try to read 2 pages of the Quran after salaah because it is quality over quantity. It is about trying to achieve change that we can maintain throughout our lives even after Ramadan is long gone.

Finally I’m not perfect or close to it or trying to falsely portray it. I’m a work in progress and striving to change. If you found this blog post beneficial then it is from Allah (SWT)  if not it is from myself. Please let me know your thoughts/ feedback and if you lovely ladies have any other Ramadan advices you wouldn’t mind sharing. Jazakum Allahu Khayr for reading my blog post.

Love you for the sake of Allah

Ramadan kareem again, May this Ramadan improve us spiritually and create a greater bond with our creator.

Leave a Reply

