Husband Appreciation Post

It is so easy in the midst of nappy changes and chasing a baby to forget to take a minute to be grateful & appreciative. Today I want to dedicate this post to my loving husband because becoming parents truly made me appreciate him so much more.

*Readers be warned this post is extremely cheesy!

cover3

When I was pregnant with my son my husband took me to most of my doctors appointments and scans (I say most because I traveled to Australia when I was pregnant but luckily he did manage to come during my last trimester and accompany me to the rest my midwife’s appointments). When I was in the waiting room for my appointments I saw many pregnant women who didn’t have that support unfortunately; which made me feel very blessed that he was there.

When I was giving birth to our son he was in the delivery room, I know most of you will wonder why is that so special because most dads in the West are expected to enter with their wives/ partners. My husband is born in Saudi and raised in Kenya. In Saudi (I don’t think it is even permissible for the men to enter the delivery room, correct me if I’m wrong!) and in Kenya it is not common even though recently more and more younger fathers are willing to enter to support their wives. There is a huge misconception that if I man enters the delivery room he won’t be attracted to you (which is complete nonsense if you ask me). When I tell people that my husband witnessed the birth of our son I get so many shocking responses. I’m grateful that he didn’t refuse like any typical African/ Muslim man and I’m thankful he was there with me.

I’m the last-born in my family and I had very limited experience with newborns and babies until I became a mother. My husband on the other hand had zero experience in that field. This soon changed! He learned how to change nappies and he helps me change our son whenever I’m busy. When we started baby E on formula my husband was extremely supportive, he would prepare his bottles and feed him. In fact he still does that which I love. This includes the night feeds because our son still doesn’t sleep through the night.

picmonkey-collage

He is honestly the ideal partner, I was so scared of all the pressures that come with being a new mum especially after I moved to Kenya and I no longer had my mum’s support. Surprisingly my husband became my greatest support when it comes to the baby. He gives me a break and lets me have “me time” whenever I need it. He takes the baby and they play together while I rest or watch a show. Some morning when our son wakes up extra early he would usually let me get an extra hour of sleep and he would take care of the baby. Change his nappy, give him breakfast and play with him (Just perfect).

My husband also takes care of all the bills and our finances; which is great because as first time mum I feel like I have a lot on my plate. If he left me to handle the bills, rests assure that I would forget one or the other. I can say thanks to him we still have water running in our tabs and we are not living in darkness. Some days I don’t feel like cooking but thankfully my husband always comes to the rescue. He would order for us take out and he would always ask me “ what do you feel like eating today?” he would always make me pick what we are going to eat. Luckily we have very similar taste in junk food, hahaha

Last weekend my husband planned a date for us, which honestly melted my heart, he arranged with my in laws to take care of our son while we go watch a movie. The last time I watched a movie in the cinema was early last year!! That’s how long it’s been. To make things more prefect we went to watch a movie of my choice and I wanted to watch Bridget Jones’s baby. He didn’t complain once about the movie. He made the whole day about me, which made me so happy. I felt like we were newly weds again.

I’m blessed to be married to such a wonderful guy. I pray that all the ladies out there find love like I did. If you are reading this and already have a special someone in your life I pray that your relationship will last and blossom.

Does your husband/partner help you with the baby? After becoming parents do you still have date nights?

Thanks for stopping by,

Please don’t forget to like and leave me a comment; it brightens my day.

If you enjoy my posts it would mean the world to me if you subscribe to my blog.

A Mum Track Mind
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
33 thoughts on “Husband Appreciation Post

  1. prettyinplaydough says:

    Ahh how lovely! I have also just written a cheesy blog post about my husband haha, there’s definitely something in the air! I don’t always think that they get the recognition that they deserve, but I am glad your husband is so wonderful. Mine is too! #loveofBlog

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jo (Mother of Teenagers) says:

    You are right it is cheesy but why not? It is fabulous that he is so supportive to you and that you feel so cared for and special. We were big on date nights on the early days but then let them slip and are now reviewing getting back into the swing of them, otherwise it is so easy to forget the person behind the mum and dad masks so to speak. #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samsam - Simply A Mama says:

      I honestly feel like since we became parents date night have been such a challenge unfortunately that’s why I feel so special when he actually plans something for us to do as a couple.
      Thanks for visiting my blog and commenting

      Like

  3. alifeinpracticeblog.com says:

    It’s lovely you feel so well supported and loved, my heart breaks whenever women I know tell me that their husbands do nothing with their children. I am lucky that in my marriage we have always seen everything as a 50-50 deal, which is how it should be! I hope I can raise my sons to be this way x #fortheloveof blog

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samsam - Simply A Mama says:

      you will be shocked of how common it is in my culture, men barely help out with the kids which is soooo sad. I’m one of the lucky few with a partner who doesn’t mind helping me out. I hope that my son will grow up to be just like his dad.
      Thanks for commenting on my post xx

      Like

  4. Tracey Bowden says:

    Such a lovely post. I think it’s easy for the men to be forgotten about when you have a new baby and it’s so nice to hear things like this. My daughter dad did a lot for her when she was a baby although neither of us were keen on the night feeds!
    Thanks so much for linking to #KCACOLS. Hope you can come back again next Sunday

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mummy Mindful says:

    Ah this is such a lovely post and one that I have been meaning to write at some point myself too as I am blessed with a total legend as a hubby. So nice to show appreciation for others in your life, especially when we’re all so busy and it’s easy to forget to. Yes, we still have datenights… in fact my recent post is about an extended ‘date night’ in London! #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samsam - Simply A Mama says:

      I have to check out your date night post, I think it’s great when we make time to spend as a couple rather than just parents. You’re lucky to also have a great husband that supports you. Make sure to let me know once you publish a husband appreciation post on your blog 🙂
      Thanks for leaving me such a lovely comment

      Liked by 1 person

  6. fatherof5blog says:

    My dad comes from an Arab country and it’s the same where he’s from, my stepmom feels the same about him. This post brought back stories that she would tell me and my siblings about him.
    I’m so glad that there are more men like him because it has made me the dad I am today #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Pramshed says:

    This is such a beautiful post and not cheesy at all. When having a baby it’s easy to forget about them as we are often the centre of attention, and the baby, but they do so much in the background. You have a keeper there, and I hope it stays that way. Thank you so much for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Winnettes says:

    I love tsking time to appreciate my husband. You have found a keeper there. What a lovely day he planned for you. It’s always lovely when they take their daddy duties seriously and get stuck in. I don’t understand men who don’t, they miss out on so much.
    #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

    • Samsam - Simply A Mama says:

      I’ve seen way too many dads who refuse to change their own babies or feed them and believe it is the “mom’s job” that’s why I really appreciate what my husband does for me. I think I would be a hot mess without his help and support.
      Thank you so much for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Savannah (@HowHesRaised) says:

    Awwww, how sweet! Your husband sounds like such an incredible partner and daddy. This post isn’t cheese at all and, even if it is, I think it’s absolutely lovely!!! Life gets crazy with kids, and sometimes it’s nice to sit back and just appreciate the one you started all the madness with ❤ Thanks for sharing #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Family Makes says:

    I too am blessed with a wonderful husband who helped out lots when the babies were little and continues to help, support and look after us in every way he can. It’s especially important when, like you, we were away from home and family, so had to be each others’ support network. I’m so glad you can speak out about your appreciation for him (and it’s not cheesy, it’s lovely!) #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mrs. Yay says:

    hey mama, I’ve just been going through your blog and it’s really inspiring so far. thank you for the experiences you’ve shared.
    please read my new blog insidemomsworldke.wordpress.com I’m a young mum but hope you can learn from me too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

